A A+ A A A

CBmed AREAS

Area 3
Metabolism & Inflammation

Area 3 combines the research efforts in the tightly linked fields of metabolic, hormonal, inflammatory and infectious disease. Projects in Area 3 deal with the lack of reliable, easy assessable and cheap biomarker for either diagnostic and risk assessment purposes or prediction of treatment response and hence treatment choice.

 

 

  • Diabesity, Cardiovascular disease
  • Biosensors
  • Bone metabolism, Fertility
  • Liver function, Inflammation and fibrosis, NAFLD
  • Microbiome-gut-brain
  • Sepsis, Fungal infections

Research projects

CBmed Projects aim to develop easily applicable, targeted, minimally invasive biomarkers for better diagnosis, better therapy monitoring and a more personalized treatment of patients.

MORE ABOUT ALL PROJECTS AND PARTNERS

Contact Person

Assoz. Prof. Dr. Harald Sourij
Scientific Leader Area 3
harald.sourij@cbmed.at

Metabolomic, immunological and genomic analyses as well as innovative molecular and cellular techniques will be used to identify novel biomarkers that can be used in early diagnosis of abnormal metabolic processes including autoimmune, endocrine, cardiovascular, inflammatory and infectious diseases.

Area 3 is closely linked to Area 2 through a focus on obesity, type 2 diabetes, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, and liver cirrhosis, which are all conditions that put subjects at an increased the risk of cancer. In turn, cancer and chemotherapeutic regimens increase the risk for infectious diseases and disturbed glucose metabolism. Therefore, there is a clear and tight interaction between Area 3 and Area 2 with regard to the content and potential biomarkers identified in Area 3.

As the methods used in Area 3, in particular microbiome analyses and metabolomics will gather large amounts of data, a close collaboration with Area 1 is vital for the identification of patterns and finally biomarkers in the datasets. Moreover, the use of Biobank Graz will be essential for validation of potential biomarkers identified in projects of Area 3.

A A+ A A A

CBmed BEREICHE

Area 3
Stoffwechsel & Entzündung

Area 3 umfasst die Forschungsarbeiten der eng zusammenhängenden Bereiche von stoffwechselbedingten, hormonellen, entzündlichen und infektiösen Erkrankungen. Die Projekte in Area 3 befassen sich mit dem Mangel an zuverlässigen, leicht messbaren und günstigen Biomarkern in der Diagnostik, Risikobewertung und für die Prognose des Therapieerfolges und infolgedessen die Wahl der Behandlung.

 

 

  • Diabesity, Cardiovascular disease
  • Biosensors
  • Bone metabolism, Fertility
  • Liver function, Inflammation and fibrosis, NAFLD
  • Microbiome-gut-brain
  • Sepsis, Fungal infections

Forschungsprojekte

Die Projekte von CBmed streben die Entwicklung leicht einsetzbarer, gezielter sowie minimalinvasiver Biomarker für eine bessere Diagnose, bessere Therapiekontrolle und für eine personalisierte Behandlung von Patienten an.

MEHR ÜBER UNSERE PROJEKTE UND PARTNER

Ansprechperson

Assoz. Prof. Dr. Harald Sourij
wissenschaftlicher Leiter Area 3
harald.sourij@cbmed.at

Metabolomische, immunologische und genomische Analysen aber auch innovative molekulare und zelluläre Techniken werden zur Identifizierung neuartiger Biomarker verwendet werden, welche dann in der frühzeitigen Diagnose von anormalen Stoffwechselprozessen bei Autoimmunität-, Stoffwechsel- und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen sowie Entzündungs- und Infektionserkrankungen eingesetzt werden können.

Area 3 steht durch die Schwerpunkte Fettleibigkeit, Typ 2 Diabetes, nichtalkoholische Fettlebererkrankung und Leberzirrhose, die alle ein erhöhtes Krebsrisiko mit sich bringen, mit Area 2 in enger Verbindung. Krebs und chemotherapeutische Behandlungen wiederum erhöhen das Risiko von Infektionskrankheiten und gestörtem Glukosestoffwechsel. Deshalb gibt es auf Grund des Inhalts und der in Area 3 identifizierten Biomarkerkandidaten eine enge Interaktion zwischen Area 3 und Area 2.

Weil die Methoden in Area 3, insbesondere Mikrobiom-Analysen und Metabolomics, sehr große Mengen an Daten erzeugen, ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Area 1 notwendig, um Muster in den Daten und daraus resultierenden Biomarkern identifizieren zu können. Darüber hinaus ist die Nutzung der Biobank Graz entscheident für die Validierung von Biomarkern, die in den Projekten in Area 3 identifiziert werden.