A A+ A A A

CBmed AREAS

Area 2
Cancer

Projects in Area 2 consider the main issues of cancer heterogeneity (genetic instability, tumor micro-environment, tumorigenic cancer stem cells), cancer progression and metastases, intrinsic therapeutic resistance and acquired resistance of cancer.

 
  • CTCs for disease monitoring
  • Tracking the trace
  • Blood based cancer diagnostics
  • Minimal residual disease
  • Eukaryotic initiation factors
  • Induced apoptosis
  • ADX models

 

Research projects

CBmed Projects aim to develop easily applicable, targeted, minimally invasive biomarkers for better diagnosis, better therapy monitoring and a more personalized treatment of patients.

MORE ABOUT ALL PROJECTS AND PARTNERS

Contact Person

Assoz. Prof. Dr. Armin Gerger
Scientific Leader Area 2
armin.gerger@cbmed.at

Most projects cover the full workflow from identification to validation up to the translation of cancer biomarkers into clinical use. Liquid biopsy as a minimally invasive method to access circulating tumor cells and circulating cell free nucleic acids is a major focus of Area 2, with the aim to develop refined selection and detection methodologies which result in the generation of new predictive and prognostic biomarkers in this research field.

Projects of Area 2 are using data and technology platforms provided in Area 1 and the tight link to research questions regarding inflammation and metabolism in Area 3 will guarantee a more comprehensive view on biomarker research with respect to tumor immunology.

A A+ A A A

CBmed BEREICHE

Area 2
Onkologie

Die Projekte in Area 2 beschäftigen sich hauptsächlich mit der Heterogenität von Krebs (genetische Instabilität, Mikroumgebung des Tumors, krebserregende Stammzellen), Tumorprogression und Metastasen, grundlegende therapeutische und erworbene Resistenz bei Krebserkrankungen.

 
  • CTCs for disease monitoring
  • Tracking the trace
  • Blood based cancer diagnostics
  • Minimal residual disease
  • Eukaryotic initiation factors
  • Induced apoptosis
  • ADX models

 

Forschungsprojekte

Die Projekte von CBmed streben die Entwicklung leicht einsetzbarer, gezielter sowie minimalinvasiver Biomarker für eine bessere Diagnose, bessere Therapiekontrolle und für eine personalisierte Behandlung von Patienten an.

MEHR ÜBER UNSERE PROJEKTE UND PARTNER

Ansprechperson

Assoz. Prof. Dr. Armin Gerger
wissenschaftlicher Leiter Area 2
armin.gerger@cbmed.at

Die meisten Projekte umfassen den gesamten Arbeitsablauf von der Identifikation über die Validierung bis hin zur translationalen Forschung von Krebs-Biomarkern für die klinische Anwendung. Liquid Biopsy, eine minimalinvasive Methode, um auf zirkulierende Tumorzellen und zirkulierende freiliegende Nukleinsäuren zugreifen zu können, ist ein Hauptschwerpunkt der Area 2, mit dem Ziel, verfeinerte Auswahl- und Nachweisverfahren zu erarbeiten, die zu neuen prädiktiven und prognostischen Biomarkern in diesem Forschungsgebiet führen.

Die Projekte von Area 2 verwenden die in Area 1 bereitgestellten Daten und Technologieplattformen, weiters wird die enge Verbindung wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen bezüglich Entzündung und Stoffwechsel in Area 3 eine umfassendere Sichtweise der Biomarkerforschung hinsichtlich der Tumorimmunologie gewährleisten.